Niti Aayog Awards 12 Women For 'Transforming India'

Union minister Smriti Irani and Niti Aayog Vice Chairman Arvind Panagariya on Tuesday awarded 12 women to recognise the transformational impact of work undertaken by them across India's villages, towns and cities.


Celebrating the outstanding achievements of women in India, NITI Aayog, in partnership with MyGOv and the United Nations, announces winners of the Women Transforming India Awards, 2017. Crowd sourcing thousands of stories of women undertaking phenomenal work to transform societies across India's cities, towns and villages, the second edition of the Awards, celebrates the critical role of women in empowering themselves and their communities. 

Change begins from you and these 12 wonderful women achievers have exemplified this," the Textiles Minister said at the award ceremony held here.

The awardees included goat veterinarian Sunita Kamble for creating alternative livelihood opportunities for women, Raji Borthakur for creating a smart glove which can predict epileptic seizures before they occur, Safeena Husain for her work to transform girls' education in rural areas and Arunima Sinha for being India's first amputee to climb Mount Everest.

A jury comprising former foreign secretary and ambassador Nirupama Rao, Indian Olympian P T Usha, Wing Commander, Indian Air Force Pooja Thakur, Niti Aayog Vice Chairman Arvind Panagariya, and UN Resident Coordinator Yuri Afanasiev undertook a rigorous process to shortlist 12 top awardees from awe-inspiring stories of women change-makers across India.

Smriti Irani urged to Information and broadcasting ministry to take theses inspiring tales to nooks and corners of India. 

Tags assigned to this article:
women entrepreneur leadership gender diversity


Around The World